Are placenta products considered as halal?

Of late, the Malaysian Islamic Authority, JAKIM has been coming down hard on foods named after words deemed not permissible according to the Islamic law. It has sparked lots of discussions and debates. Now how about placenta? Are placenta products considered halal and permissible for consumption by the Muslim community?

We must firstly take a look at how placenta products are manufactured. There are many stringent steps need to be taken to ensure these products met with the halal industry standard if the manufacturers want them to achieve halal certifications.

In fact, some of the imported brands sold in Malaysia have received the approval from the Federation of Islamic Associations of New Zealand (FIANZ). The process taken has shown these brands care for the Muslim community by ensuring the placenta products are not contaminated with non-halal products. From the intake of raw materials to the final product, steps such as separating the processing rooms, equipment and storage areas away from non-halal products are strictly adhered to. Such steps are important especially in the production of the capsules of the placenta extracts. Some capsules are made of bovine. 

So the question of whether placenta products are safe or not to be consumed by Muslim community, we need to check back the process undertaken by these brands. Some may question if the Malaysian Islamic Authority have given halal certifications to these brands, but if they have gained halal certification from other Islamic Associations or bodies in their respective countries, we can say these placenta products are safe for consumption. 

Posted by


Comments are closed.